Sondors THIN eBike Battery Review

Most people won’t care about the stats below, but someone looking on Google about the Sondors’ performance may find the reference handy.

Regina is a really flat city. I went about 26.5km (16.5mi) before the battery showed dead on LCD, flashed, and it only worked on PedalASsist sometimes while pedaling the next km to my destination. I had been hoping the range would be more like 40km (while using the throttle a fair bit), but I guess the 50mi* range maximum advertised is far too optimistic, or only pedaling with PAS 1 makes a huge difference over using the throttle too. The PAS 2 setting I tend to use is about 79W ~24km/h, and the throttle spikes to 420W and cruises around 250W at 31km/h (19mi/h), so the stock THIN battery just doesn’t last like I’d hoped.

The bike is still really useful to me, but I’m going to need spare batteries before I attempt an inter-city journey down the Trans-Canada Highway to Moose Jaw 70km away. I expect ebikes like the Sondors THIN and Original fat bike to become standard equipment for commuters within the next decade. I haven’t felt this way about a technology since I first saw the iPod Touch around 2007, and now everyone has one of those (or their enhanced equivalent) in their pocket.

*My tire pressure was a bit low about 40psi (of 50psi max), and there were some head winds at times. I’ve not checked if the front brake is perfectly adjusted so there’s 0 rubbing, which would impact the range somewhat too.

About John Klein

My full time blog is at AbandonedStuff.com My personal site devoted to my Regina politics work is at JohnKlein.ca