Vehicle Allowance

Do you wonder why Regina isn’t a Transit City? It’s because of automobile subsidies like the former City Manager getting $600-$1000 a MONTH for a personal vehicle.

A $1000/year would easily cover a Regina Transit pass, and the City Manager could fill in the gaps when headed to work sites with car sharing (which happens to be conveniently parked in City Hall Parkade).

Even an exorbitant $600/month vehicle allowance can buy my well-equipped bicycle once per month. I’d have to struggle to spend $600 a month on a car, unless I went with a Tesla Model S which could easily be $900/month if leased.

Do people from Regina wonder why our city transportation system is in decline? People in charge of it don’t decide to settle here after years of sort-of maintaining it. And the people who want to live here are not being listened to by those who could fix the problems.

About John Klein

My full time blog is at AbandonedStuff.com My personal site devoted to my Regina politics work is at JohnKlein.ca