Transit Union Makes Some Points

Baker said Regina Transit hasn’t kept up with the growing city and increasing ridership. The schedules don’t have enough time built in to catch up lest something not go according to plan, he explained.

“Our scheduling that we give to the passengers is essentially our promise to the people. If we can’t maintain that bus on time, they’re not going to ride,” said Lucier.

Baker thinks the solution is more buses on the road. While the city has touted new vehicle purchases, Baker said those are only maintaining the fleet; buses are still pulled off the road regularly for maintenance, causing cancelled runs.

Baker also wants to see route redrawing: shortening runs and moving toward increased frequency.

That’s all true, based on what I’ve seen, and what I’ve heard from drivers.

About John Klein

My full time blog is at AbandonedStuff.com My personal site devoted to my Regina politics work is at JohnKlein.ca