City forces woman to get rid of backyard chickens

Global News

REGINA – The city is forcing a local woman in the north end to get rid of the hens her family has been raising in their backyard for years or face a fine of up to $2,000.

“I’m feeling very sad. I’ve shed more tears over chickens than I ever thought I would in my life,” said Shandra Massier.

Chickens are considered to be livestock under the Regina Animal Bylaw.

“No person shall keep livestock in any area of the City unless the livestock are kept as part of a public agricultural exhibition or exposition operation or agricultural fair,” the bylaw reads.

Massier and her family raised four chickens in a heated chicken coop over about three years. They were given two weeks’ notice by the city to evict their feathery tenants.

“First and foremost, there is a significant disease hazard to do with them. Everybody’s heard of avian influenza, that is…

View original post 265 more words

About John Klein

My full time blog is at AbandonedStuff.com My personal site devoted to my Regina politics work is at JohnKlein.ca