A Thank-You To the RPS and EMS

A few of you may have caught me on the news today. The Regina Police Service had a meeting and my thank-you letter came up. CBC did a news report on it.

If you’d told me a year ago that I’d be a survivor of a cardiac arrest, I’d have not believed it. I’ve always considered the increasing prevalence of AEDs to be a good thing for society, but hadn’t anticipated needing one.

Insp. Corey Zaharuk, who oversees the police bike patrol, says Klein’s case shows how valuable that form of police patrol can be.

“Our goal with them is to make sure that we are present during those crowd events to respond to whatever we need to respond to,” he said. “In this case it was a male in medical distress.”

The EMS who arrived were also on bicycles. They were carrying an AED on their bike trailer. The ambulance almost got stuck in the mud in Wascana Park, so the fire department was on hand in case they needed to be towed out. The cooling bed I was put on at the hospital, to keep my organs fresh while they healed from reduced oxygen, was donated. I’ve agreed to help the Hospitals of Regina Foundation raise awareness of the need for more and even better equipment in our hospitals.

About John Klein

My full time blog is at AbandonedStuff.com My personal site devoted to my Regina politics work is at JohnKlein.ca