Libel Lecture

It’s surreal to wake up and read a friend’s message that your name is on the second page of the province’s largest newspapers, because a radio host with a newspaper column decided to sling mud your way. Last Tuesday I attended my 3rd lecture in a week at the UofR by a public speaker, the last one being by John Gormley. To the surprise of everyone in the room, his talk was interrupted by a noisy, yelling, protester. I put the video on my blog, as I did with the other two recent lectures.

Mr. Gormley’s radio station and his radio show in his “showbizzy” way extensively promoted my video of his lecture with the altercation and some interviews I tacked onto the end. In his column’s recap of the lecture, and on TV, he singled me out with derogatory remarks, claiming falsely that I was “leering and giggling” at his misfortune of being aggressively interrupted. Others were recording, and my video too confirms I was not giggling during this interruption. I don’t know how Mr. Gormley could interpret my rapt attention during a public lecture and his unusual altercation as “leering”, but I confirm there was no malice intended. Perhaps radio personalities aren’t used to people looking at them as they talk.

It seems improbable that Mr. Gormley intended no malice with his untrue comments about my behaviour and my political position on the spectrum he measures people by. I suppose even moderates like myself appear left wing from Mr. Gormley’s political perch, as he imagines people with different political views as conspiring against him.


Mr. Gormley: “Of course he [Daniels] had John Klein [16 mins in], the little leftie photographing the whole thing, they’re waiting for me to swipe his arm away.”
Just 5 minutes earlier he was encouraging people to watch the video I kindly produced in my work as a blogger, for myself, to share later. In no way did I go to Mr. Gormley’s lecture in cooperation with Mr. Daniels. He can be paranoid on his radio show if he desires, and cook up conspiracy theories where I’m working with “thugs”. However, casting me in that untrue light is libelous, and a lawyer like Gormley should have more sense than to put that in his newspaper columns, or on Sun TV.

 

ADDED:

“A certain right-wing radio host for whom I have zero respect responded to my column by publicly dismissing me as a “little leftie” whose opinions as such should be invalidated in perpetuity.”

Aww, I thought that Gormley’s pet name for me was unique.

About John Klein

My full time blog is at AbandonedStuff.com My personal site devoted to my Regina politics work is at JohnKlein.ca