Add Another RFID Card #YQRcc

The City of Regina supports a barcoded plastic card at Leisure centres called the Leisure Pass. It uses an RFID card known as the R-Card on Regina Transit. And now employees will have a different RFID card to swipe at the security desk in City Hall’s main floor.

I’m opposed to structuring City Hall to be less welcoming to visitors, especially when the City admits there’s “no specific” reason they are spending money on this technology. I’d possibly be in favour of it if it utilized an existing ID card the City is already using, but the City’s been unable to integrate even the R-Card and Leisure passes. What’s it doing spending more money to add another card to its identification systems?

About John Klein

My full time blog is at AbandonedStuff.com My personal site devoted to my Regina politics work is at JohnKlein.ca