#YQRcc City Council Moves to Slow Growth

By the logic of previous Regina City Council their previous no-tax-raise budgets were “good for growth”.

Last year I proposed a 0.1% tax increase to reinvest some of Regina Transit’s increased fare revenue into new buses.

This year City Council is proposing a 7% tax increase, with 1% of that to put new money toward repairing streets.

The City Council wants to increase taxes 70 times more than I proposed, but they said no last year? How much of this increase is really going to improve Transit? I’d have to guess 0%, but I remain optimistic that a few citizens speaking to Council can change their mind and help them realize that Regina will be embarrassed by refusing to put new money into buses.

==

References:
US subsidizes fossil fuels with $2T/year.

About John Klein

My full time blog is at AbandonedStuff.com My personal site devoted to my Regina politics work is at JohnKlein.ca