Design Regina Approval

Dear City Clerk:

I have several comments for agenda items on December 16th. I do not need to appear before Council for every one of them, but wish for my questions and comments to be shown to them for the instances where I do not speak as a delegation.

Regarding “Finance and Administration Committee: Exemption Request Regina Trades and Skills Inc. – 1269 Albert Street”
“5-year property tax exemption be provided for the land at 1269 Albert Street owned by Suncor Energy Inc.”

I ask why is this Parking Lot not being taxed? Perhaps the answer will arise during another delegation during the meeting, but if not I want my opposition to such a plan on record. If parking is subsidized, then it’s less likely drivers will feel the true cost of driving and parking, so they’ll make a less wise economic decision. An oil company, and a trades training place should be preparing workers for the reality of the free market, and the costs associated with transportation to work. Additionally, there would be less tax collected to properly fund our public transit system that can deliver these people to their place of training and eventual workplace.

Regarding “Interim Payments – Wascana Centre Authority”

I suggest this amount be adjusted upward to whatever point it would take that pathways within Wascana Parks can be repaired to the standard for City paths and sidewalks. I contacted WCA about a badly cracked asphalt pathway north of the University of Regina campus, and was told that they couldn’t afford to fix that pathway. It is the only path between campus and University Park on the other side of the Ring Road. Riding a bike on that MUP is very uncomfortably jarring.

I wish to speak to the Design Regina process and resulting document:

First, I congratulate City Council and the City Administration for nearing the end of a years long consultative process that has produced a document that can help transform Regina into an even better place to live in harmony. I look forward to other projects as engaging as Design Regina, and hope you all appreciate the opportunity such processes provide you to work with your city’s most enthusiastic planners and policy participants.

Regarding one proposed addition, I’d like to point out that flood regions that would have buildings blocked by provincial requirements, are not unusable land between floods. The flooding region beside the MultiUse Pathway north and south of Assiniboine Ave. would make ideal community garden locations. With a potential irrigation source nearby, and no building development potential, a seasonal garden used by citizens in the surrounding neighbourhoods would be something I’d be excited to see the City pursue.

About John Klein

My full time blog is at AbandonedStuff.com My personal site devoted to my Regina politics work is at JohnKlein.ca